home about offer admission policies faqs testimonials vacancies contact


care & education

partnership with parents

key person

settling in

food & nutrition

special educational needs

daily routine


opening times

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). For further information click here

The EYFS sets the standards for learning, development and care of children from birth up to 5 years of age.

The principles which guide the work of our Early Years Professionals are grouped into four themes:

A Unique Child - every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.

Positive Relationships - children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments - the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning

Learning and Development - children develop and learn in different ways and at different times; all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.

Areas of Learning and Development

There are seven areas in which our Early Years Professionals support children to learn and develop. These are:

    Prime areas

         •   Physical development
         •   Social, personal and emotional development
         •   Communication and language development

    Specific areas

         •   Literacy
         •   Mathematics
         •   Understanding the World
         •   Expressive Arts and Design

For more information about the Early Years Foundation Stage please see our EYFS information board or download full guidance at www.foundationyears.org.uk