Care and Education

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards for all early years’ providers to meet to ensure appropriate learning, development, and care of children from birth to 5 years of age.

The principles which guide the work of our Early Years Professionals are grouped into four themes:

A Unique Child – every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships – children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents/caregivers/key persons.

Enabling Environments – the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development – children develop and learn in different ways and at different times; all areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected.

Areas of Learning

There are seven areas in which our Early Years Professionals support to learn and develop. These are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design 


Core Values

At Dragonfly, we have a short set of our own core values which we aim to instil into our children during their time with us. We understand the importance of equipping your children with the best possible tools they need for their next step, therefore try to incorporate the following values into their day to day life at nursery:

  • Curiosity
  • Kindness
  • Respect
  • Independence